History and Mission

The Centre for Chinese Research (CCR) supports and disseminates research on China and the Chinese-speaking world. Located within the Institute of Asian Research (IAR) at the School of Public Policy and Global Affairs (SPPGA), the CCR serves multiple constituencies, including UBC scholars and students, the field of Chinese studies, and the general public. In addition to facilitating coordination between researchers in different UBC departments and units, the CCR hosts visitors, sponsors academic conferences and seminars, and maintains an active program of public events.

The Centre was formally established in 1992 with the following objectives:

  • to strengthen Chinese studies at UBC;
  • to coordinate research on China, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, overseas Chinese communities, and Canada’s relationship with these areas and populations;
  • to promote interaction among faculty, graduate students, and visiting scholars doing research on Chinese topics;
  • to facilitate linkages between scholars at UBC and other institutions doing research on China and the Chinese-speaking world; and
  • to promote a deeper understanding in Canada of China and Chinese culture through public outreach.

The Centre for Chinese Research’s mandate is multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary. It thus serves as a hub for UBC scholars at working in all aspects of Chinese studies. CCR also maintains close ties to academic, international, policy-making, business, and local communities, within Canada and beyond.

We welcome inquiries from individuals and institutions interested in contributing to the CCR’s mission to enhance Chinese studies at UBC and promote research collaborations.

Be sure to sign up for our e-newsletter for announcements regarding upcoming CCR events and new initiatives.

List of Former Directors

Josephine Chiu-Duke, 2018-2019

Josephine Chiu-Duke and Leo Shin, 2016-2018

Christopher Rea, 2015-2016

Timothy Cheek, 2011-2015

Alison Bailey, 2003-2011

Diana Lary, 2003

Catherine Swatek, 2002

Diana Lary, 1999-2001

Samuel Ho, 1995-1999